What Did Google Announce on October 15?
In a short Google News blog post headlined “400 publications are now partnering with us on our News AI pilot program,” Google said it is “evolving our partnerships as newsrooms adapt to these shifts in user preferences and new technology.” It wrote that since launching the pilot last year with partners including The Washington Examiner and The Washington Post, “more than 400 publications worldwide are now participating in this program.” Its newest partners, it said, “range from global outlets like Axios, CNN, The Financial Times, and Forbes, to local publishers like Post and Courier, Texas Tribune, Oil City News, and Shaw Media in the U.S.” (Google).
Google describes the pilot as a licensing program. In its words: “we pay participating news publications for the delivery and use of enhanced content to develop new AI features.” The examples it gives are “in-depth article overviews on Google News publisher pages offering people helpful context before they click” and “customizable audio briefings for listeners,” and it says that “with clear attribution and direct links, these features build meaningful new ways for readers to connect with the sources they value” (Google, October 15, 2026).
One detail is worth flagging. Google lists The Financial Times among its newest partners, while Press Gazette’s deal tracker records that the FT announced in February that it had joined the pilot. Both can be true if the FT’s arrangement widened, but neither source says so, and we have not found an explanation.
What Did Reach and Google Say About Their Deal?
Reach, owner of the Mirror, Express and Daily Star, joined the pilot for news content across its UK and Ireland portfolio. The dates in the coverage differ by a day. Press Gazette’s tracker logs the deal on October 12, 2026 (Press Gazette), and InPublishing published its report at 09:17 UK time on October 13 (InPublishing). We could not find a dated Reach release, so the safest reading is that Reach announced the deal on or about October 12 and InPublishing carried it the next morning.
InPublishing quotes both sides. Hayley Cochrane, Google’s director of news partnerships for the UK and Northern Europe, said: “We are thrilled to welcome Reach to our AI pilot programme for news—a commercial partnership where we pay for enhanced content rights, enable experimental AI features, and explore how AI can drive engaged audiences.” Reach chief executive Piers North said Reach’s content “represents something unique that readers still value in the age of AI.” Neither report gives a payment figure, a contract length or the list of Reach titles covered.
How Big Is the Pilot?
publications ("more than" floors except where marked "about")
Sources: Google, "400 publications are now partnering with us on our News AI pilot program" (October 15, 2026); Digiday (September 14, 2026); Search Engine Journal relaying The Information (October 1, 2026). Read October 15, 2026. Links are in the source list below.
Bars show the floor of each figure. The first three are Google's own statements; the last is a press report Google has not confirmed. The programs overlap in membership and pay for different things, so the bars cannot be added together.
The chart puts the pilot next to Google’s other publisher payment programs. Each figure is a floor, and the programs pay for different things, so they cannot be added together.
Two points follow from Google’s own numbers. First, the pilot is growing quickly: Google told Digiday in mid-September that it “already involves more than 200 titles globally” (Digiday), and a month later its own post says more than 400. Second, it is still a fraction of News Showcase, which Google told Digiday covers “over 2,800 publications in 33 countries.” When Google introduced the pilot on December 10, 2025, it named nine partners “among others”: Der Spiegel, El País, Folha de S. Paulo, Infobae, Kompas, The Guardian, The Times of India, The Washington Examiner and The Washington Post (Google, December 10, 2025).
What Has Google Not Said?
The October post gives no payment amounts, fee structure, contract length or full list of participants, and it does not describe what controls a participating publisher has. That is normal for commercial licensing, and Google is not alone in it: most publisher AI deals are announced without terms.
The open question that matters most to publishers is whether “enhanced content rights” extend to training AI models. On this point there is only one report, and it is secondhand. On June 25, 2026, PYMNTS summarized a report by The Information, citing an unnamed source, that Google was asking publishers who join the pilot to grant broad rights over how it uses their content. PYMNTS wrote that “those rights could include allowing Google to use participating publishers’ content to train its artificial intelligence models, according to the report,” and that publishers who decline would eventually lose an annual Google News fee (PYMNTS). The Google statement quoted in that article does not address training: “as people’s news preference change, we’ve been expanding our partnerships through our News AI pilot program, working with a wide range of publishers to explore how AI can drive more engaged audiences.” We did not read The Information’s paywalled article, Google has not confirmed the training claim, and nothing in Google’s October post or the Reach coverage mentions training.
Is This the Same Program as Google’s AI Contribution Pilot?
The published material describes them separately. The News AI pilot licenses publisher content for features on Google News pages and audio briefings. The “AI contribution pilot,” reported in September, pays invited sites when their content contributes to answers in AI Overviews and AI Mode; we covered it in Does Google Pay Publishers When AI Overviews Use Their Work?. Google’s October 15 post does not mention the contribution pilot, and we found no Google statement on how the two relate. The same day, Google separately announced changes to how links appear in AI Mode and AI Overviews, covered in Is Google Putting Links Higher in AI Mode and AI Overviews?.
What This Means for Anyone Buying a Placement
Our reading, not a Google statement: pilot membership tells you about a publisher’s business with Google. It says nothing about the quality of any article on that site. Google does not say that pilot partners rank higher in Search, are cited more often in AI Overviews or AI Mode, or are favored anywhere outside the Google News features it describes, and we found no evidence that they are. A placement should not be sold or bought on that assumption. Nothing a company pays for a placement buys a publisher’s place in a Google program, and a paid or sponsored article remains advertising.
The news does have three practical uses. If a target outlet is in the pilot, an article there may be summarized in an overview on that outlet’s Google News page, with attribution and a link, so the opening paragraphs need to state the facts clearly and accurately. If an outlet is not on Google’s short list, that proves little, because Google names only a handful of the 400. And it is a reason to ask an outlet what its AI arrangements cover for new and archived articles. The wider deal landscape is in Which Publishers Have AI Licensing Deals?, and the litigation side is in Why Did USA Today Sue OpenAI?
Methodology and Limitations
Four limits apply. First, we read Google’s October 15 and December 10, 2025 posts, InPublishing, Digiday and PYMNTS directly; Press Gazette’s tracker was read through a fetch service because the page blocked direct download. Second, Google does not publish a participant list, so we name only the partners Google and the trade press name. Third, the training-rights claim rests on one paywalled report that we saw only as summarized by PYMNTS. Fourth, we did not test the pilot features, which Google describes but does not say are generally available.
Conclusion
Google says it pays, the pilot has passed 400 publications, and the terms are private. For a company buying coverage, the useful reading is narrow: an outlet’s deal with Google is context about that outlet. Ask what its AI arrangements mean for your article, and keep visibility promises out of any purchase until a platform documents them.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Google paying publishers for AI?
For the publications in its News AI pilot, yes: Google says it pays them "for the delivery and use of enhanced content to develop new AI features" (Google, October 15, 2026). It has not disclosed amounts or terms. Q: How many publications are in Google's News AI pilot? A: Google's October 15, 2026 post says more than 400 publications worldwide. Google told Digiday in mid-September that the scheme involved more than 200 titles. Q: Did Reach join the pilot? A: Yes. Reach joined for its UK and Ireland news content. Press Gazette logged the deal on October 12, 2026 and InPublishing reported it on October 13. Payment terms were not disclosed. Q: Does being in the pilot make an outlet rank higher in Google? A: Google does not say so, and we found no evidence for it. Treat pilot membership as information about the publisher's business with Google. Q: Do the pilot's rights include training AI models? A: Google has not said. A June 2026 report by The Information, as summarized by PYMNTS, said the rights could include training. Google has not confirmed that. Q: What does the pilot do for readers? A: Google says it is building in-depth article overviews on Google News publisher pages and customizable audio briefings, with attribution and direct links.
Sources
This guide is built from Google's October 15, 2026 and December 10, 2025 posts, two trade reports on the Reach deal, Digiday's September report and a summary of a June 2026 report, all read on October 15, 2026. The statements about what a buyer should do are our recommendation, not a platform rule. We did not test the features and could not verify the training-rights report.
- official Google, 400 publications are now partnering with us on our News AI pilot program. Supports the 400 count, partner names, licensing description and features. Dated October 15, 2026. Read October 15, 2026.
- official Google, New Google web ecosystem tools and partnerships. Supports the December 10, 2025 launch and the nine named early partners. Read October 15, 2026.
- trade press InPublishing, Reach and Google announce News AI partnership. Supports the Reach and Cochrane quotes and the October 13 publication time. Read October 15, 2026.
- trade press Press Gazette, Who's suing AI and who's signing. Supports the October 12 tracker entry for Reach and the FT's February entry. Read October 15, 2026.
- trade press Digiday, Google rolls out pay-per-value AI licensing program to publishers. Supports the "more than 200 titles" and News Showcase "over 2,800 publications" figures attributed to Google. Read October 15, 2026.
- trade press Search Engine Journal, Google AI Pilot Pays Some Sites Under 0.1% Of Ad Revenue. Supports the reported figure of about 100 publishers in the AI contribution pilot, relayed from The Information. Read October 15, 2026.
- trade press PYMNTS, Google Tells News Publishers to Share Content for AI Training or Lose Fees. Supports the summary of The Information's June 25, 2026 report and the Google spokesperson quote. Read October 15, 2026.