Media Morpheus

Comparisonby Media Morpheus Research

October 21, 2026 · Last fact-checked: October 21, 2026 · Pricing checked October 2026

Best Alternatives to PRWeb in 2026: 5 Press Release Services Compared by What Each Price Tier Includes

PRWeb, Cision’s self-serve press release service, charges $120 to $480 per release; its closest alternatives are EIN Presswire ($149 and up), Newswire.com ($399), ACCESS Newswire ($475), Business Wire (from $475) and PR Newswire (quote-based). The difference that matters is what the entry tier buys: PRWeb’s $120 Basic tier lists keyword tagging and unlimited media assets but no syndication, which starts at $245. Every figure below was read on the vendors’ own pages on October 21, 2026. A press release is paid distribution, and none of these services buys editorial coverage.

PRWebPress Release DistributionNewswiresCisionPricing

At a Glance

  • PRWeb lists Basic $120, Standard $245, Advanced $360 and Premium $480 “per news release”; “Syndication to our network of 1200+ websites powered by PRNewswire” starts at Standard (PRWeb pricing).
  • EIN Presswire lists “$149 for news release,” “$499 for 5 releases” and “$999 for 15 releases” ($66.60 each), each usable for 365 days (EIN Presswire pricing).
  • Newswire.com lists $399, $659 and $965 per release, and “These prices cover unlimited words and images” (Newswire.com pricing).
  • ACCESS Newswire lists $475, $865 and $1,205 per release; Yahoo! Finance, AP and broker terminals begin at the $865 tier (ACCESS Newswire).
  • Business Wire starts at “$475” for 400 words on a U.S. local circuit (Business Wire pricing); PR Newswire publishes no price: “Costs vary based on distribution scope, geographic reach and additional services” (PR Newswire).

What Are the Best Alternatives to PRWeb?

The five alternatives we could verify on their own pages are EIN Presswire, Newswire.com, ACCESS Newswire, Business Wire and PR Newswire. The first three are self-serve services with published prices, Business Wire publishes a starting price, and PR Newswire sells by quote.

PRWeb is not independent of the largest of them. Its pricing page says syndication is “powered by PRNewswire,” its home page is branded “Cision PRWeb,” and its sample releases carry a “/PRNewswire-PRWeb/” dateline (PRWeb). Moving from PRWeb to PR Newswire is a move between two Cision products at different price points. See Best Alternatives to PR Newswire for the wider field and Best Alternatives to EIN Presswire for the budget end.

PRWeb vs the Alternatives at a Glance

PRWeb defines its tiers by the channel each adds: search tagging, then syndication, then journalist email, then a blogger network. The alternatives define tiers mainly by named outlets.

ServicePublished price per releaseWhat the tiers addStated turnaround
PRWeb$120 / $245 / $360 / $480Keyword tagging; syndication to 1,200+ sites; one journalist email list and proofreading; Sovrn network48 hours (Basic, Standard); 24 hours (Advanced, Premium)
EIN Presswire$149; $499 for 5; $999 for 15Higher word limits and more targets per package; all include AP News, Nexstar and USA TODAY Network“Same Day Distribution” for verified accounts in business hours
Newswire.com$399 / $659 / $965; state $599Digital Journal, then AP News, then Yahoo and NexstarNot stated
ACCESS Newswire$475 / $865 / $1,205; state $599Yahoo! Finance, AP and broker terminals at $865; Business Insider and specialty circuits at $1,205“within 2–4 hours” in business hours
Business WireFrom $475 (400 words)Circuit, word count and enhancements priced separatelyNot stated on pricing page
PR NewswireNot publishedTargeting by country, state, industry and beat“within hours of approval” for established accounts

Pricing checked October 2026.

What Is PRWeb, and What Does Each Tier Include?

PRWeb is Cision’s per-release online distribution service, with four tiers that all include “Unlimited Media Assets” and “Relevant content keyword tagging by our expert editorial team” (PRWeb pricing). Basic is $120 with a 48-hour turnaround. Standard ($245) adds “Syndication to our network of 1200+ websites powered by PRNewswire.” Advanced ($360) adds “Email distribution to ONE of our industry-curated journalist lists,” proofreading and a 24-hour turnaround. Premium ($480) adds “Distribution to Sovrn’s content recommended network,” which the page says “Connects your message with influential bloggers.”

What the pricing page does not state: a word limit, a link count, a use window for purchased releases, or what analytics come with each tier. Confirm those before buying. The page lists PRWeb’s contact hours as “11AM ET Sunday – 8PM ET Friday,” so a release bought on a Saturday waits for staff, and the 24- and 48-hour turnarounds should be read against those hours.

What Do PRWeb and Its Alternatives Cost?

PRWeb’s Basic tier at $120 is the lowest single-release price of any service here, and its Premium tier at $480 sits just above ACCESS Newswire’s and Business Wire’s $475 entry prices. Pricing checked October 2026.

PRWeb’s four tiers against the entry tiers of alternatives that publish a price

US dollars per release

PRWeb: Premium
$480
Business Wire: starting price (400 words, U.S. local)
$475
ACCESS Newswire: Budget
$475
Newswire.com: Starter
$399
PRWeb: Advanced
$360
PRWeb: Standard
$245
EIN Presswire: Basic (one release)
$149
PRWeb: Basic
$120

Source: PRWeb, “Pricing”; Business Wire, “Pricing”; ACCESS Newswire, “Submit a Press Release”; Newswire.com, “Pricing”; EIN Presswire, “Pricing.” Read October 21, 2026.

PRWeb’s four tiers are shown in full; the alternatives’ entry tiers only. Tiers differ in inclusions, word limits and named outlets. PR Newswire publishes no price and is not charted. EIN Presswire’s 15-release bundle works out to $66.60 per release.

The chart shows the other services’ entry tiers falling between PRWeb’s Basic and Premium prices, though each buys something different. For cost ranges across the market, see How Much Does a Press Release Cost in 2026?

Is EIN Presswire a Cheaper Alternative to PRWeb?

For several releases, yes: EIN Presswire’s Corporate package is $999 for 15 releases, or $66.60 each, below PRWeb’s $120 Basic price. For one release, EIN Presswire’s $149 is $29 more than PRWeb Basic but names distribution partners at that price.

EIN Presswire says “All press release packages include AP News, Nexstar Media Group and the USA TODAY Network,” with several destinations “based on relevance,” and caps releases at 700, 1,000 or 2,500 words by package. Packages may be used “within 1 year from the date of purchase” (EIN Presswire pricing). A comparison with a larger wire is in EIN Presswire vs PR Newswire.

What Does Newswire.com Offer?

Newswire.com sells national tiers at $399 (“Published to Digital Journal and Online News & Media”), $659 (“Distributed to AP News, Digital Journal, and more”) and $965 (“Includes AP News, Yahoo, Nexstar, and major outlets”), all with unlimited words and images (Newswire.com pricing). A $599 state plan targets regional outlets and local TV and is marked “Not for regulatory distro”; it is the only plan on the page that lists an “Insights and Analytics report.” Newswire.com lists ACCESS Newswire and PressRelease.com as sister brands.

What Does ACCESS Newswire Offer?

ACCESS Newswire sells $475 Budget, $865 National and $1,205 US Premium tiers with unlimited words, hyperlinks and multimedia, plus a report covering “pickup, sentiment, and AI citation visibility” (ACCESS Newswire). Single releases must be used within 60 days; 3-packs (5% off) and 5-packs (10% off) within 12 months. Most releases are distributed “within 2–4 hours” during business hours, and an optional AI tool, ACCESS Verified, checks a draft before editorial review. Its home-page FAQ says prices “start at $415,” lower than any tier on the pricing page (ACCESS Newswire home).

When Should You Pay for Business Wire Instead of PRWeb?

Pay for Business Wire when the news is financial or regulated, or when a release needs a named editorial review: every release includes “Expert Editorial Review,” and the starting price is $475 for 400 words (Business Wire pricing). Its investor relations page lists Canadian, UK and European disclosure services (Business Wire IR). “Longer releases are billed in 100-word increments,” and multimedia and translation cost extra. For regular senders it says “Flat-rate packages are available for qualifying U.S. customers” and that “a distribution plan usually costs less per release than paying one at a time,” without publishing those rates. See Best Alternatives to Business Wire.

Is PR Newswire an Upgrade From PRWeb?

PR Newswire is the larger, quote-based wire from the same parent. It says it reaches “440,000+ newsrooms, direct feeds and subscribers, including 270,000+ journalists and influencers and 9,000+ websites,” and offers targeting across countries (“more than 170 in over 40 languages”); it publishes no price (PR Newswire). These are vendor figures without a stated method. Its investor relations page offers “full disclosure networks” reaching “6,400+ financial, news and research websites,” hosted IR websites and webcasts (PR Newswire IR). See PR Newswire vs GlobeNewswire.

Where Is PRWeb Still the Better Choice?

PRWeb is still the better choice for a single, low-cost release where the goal is online and search presence rather than wire placement. Its $120 Basic tier is the lowest published single-release price here, its $245 Standard tier undercuts every other published single-release price except EIN Presswire’s $149, and its tiers let a buyer add journalist email ($360) without moving to a quote-based wire. Its syndication runs on a network PRWeb says is “powered by PRNewswire.”

Its limits: the page states no word limit, use window or analytics, the Basic tier lists no syndication, and PRWeb names no disclosure services.

Who Should Choose Which?

  • One small announcement: PRWeb Standard ($245) if syndication matters, EIN Presswire Basic ($149) if named outlets matter.
  • Several announcements in a year: EIN Presswire bundles.
  • Long releases or rich media: Newswire.com or ACCESS Newswire.
  • Regulated or investor news: Business Wire or PR Newswire, both of which describe disclosure distribution.

Final Verdict: Is There a Better Alternative to PRWeb?

For most small buyers, EIN Presswire is the best alternative to PRWeb because its bundles lower the per-release price and its pages name distribution at every tier; for regulated news, Business Wire is the clearer step up because it publishes a starting price. A press release is paid distribution, so links on partner pages are typically nofollow or sponsored (see Do Wire Services Nofollow Your Links?), and none of these services can promise coverage, rankings or AI citations.

How We Compared PRWeb and Its Alternatives

We read each vendor’s own pricing and service pages on October 21, 2026, and compared what they state. Prices are list prices in US dollars; we did not buy or test any service, and reach figures are vendor claims.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best alternative to PRWeb?

For a private company, EIN Presswire ($149 for one release, $66.60 each in a 15-release package) is the cheapest published alternative to PRWeb’s higher tiers. For regulated news, Business Wire is the clearer step up, from $475.

How much does PRWeb cost?

As of October 21, 2026, PRWeb lists $120 (Basic), $245 (Standard), $360 (Advanced) and $480 (Premium) per news release.

Is PRWeb the same as PR Newswire?

No, but they are related. PRWeb is branded “Cision PRWeb” and says its syndication network is “powered by PRNewswire”; PR Newswire is Cision’s wire service.

Does PRWeb’s cheapest plan include syndication?

Not on its pricing page. Syndication to “1200+ websites powered by PRNewswire” is listed from the $245 Standard tier; Basic lists keyword tagging and unlimited media assets.

Which PRWeb alternatives have unlimited word counts?

Newswire.com says its prices “cover unlimited words and images,” and ACCESS Newswire says every plan includes unlimited word count. PRWeb’s pricing page does not state a word limit.

Does any of these services guarantee coverage?

No. Each sells distribution, and publications decide independently whether to cover a release.

Sources and Methodology

This guide is built from vendor pricing and service pages read October 21, 2026. Where a vendor gives two prices (ACCESS Newswire’s $475 pricing page and “$415” home-page FAQ), we give both and chart the pricing-page figure. The tier comparisons and verdict are our reading of those pages, not vendor claims. We did not submit releases or confirm any reach claim. Pricing checked October 2026.

  1. vendor PRWeb, Pricing. Tiers, inclusions, turnaround, “powered by PRNewswire.” Read October 21, 2026.
  2. vendor PRWeb, Home page. “Cision PRWeb” branding and dateline. Read October 21, 2026.
  3. vendor EIN Presswire, Press Release Pricing & Comparison Chart. Packages, word limits, use period. Read October 21, 2026.
  4. vendor Newswire.com, Pricing. Tiers, analytics on state plan, brands. Read October 21, 2026.
  5. vendor ACCESS Newswire, Submit a Press Release. Tiers, terms, turnaround, ACCESS Verified. Read October 21, 2026.
  6. vendor ACCESS Newswire, Home page. FAQ price floor. Read October 21, 2026.
  7. vendor Business Wire, Business Wire Pricing: What a Press Release Costs. Starting price, editorial review, word billing. Read October 21, 2026.
  8. vendor Business Wire, Investor Relations Services. Disclosure services. Read October 21, 2026.
  9. vendor PR Newswire, PR Distribution and Placement. Price statement, reach and targeting claims, timing. Read October 21, 2026.
  10. vendor PR Newswire, Investor Relations Solutions. Disclosure networks, IR websites, webcasts. Read October 21, 2026.